Half way!

Today is half way day! 5 months have gone and 5 to go.

Time is such a magical thing. In some ways I feel as though I have been living in Timor-Leste for aggges but on the other hand it feels as though I left cold old Dunedin just yesterday.

Sunset on my first night in Timor-Leste!

I feel like I have done so much in this short amount of time. Highlights include; going to Flores as a solo traveller was such an adventure. Long weekend trips to Same and Balibo with friends is always great, having a break from the craziness of Dili is needed on the regular, even if it’s just to my favourite snorkelling spot of K41 (41km from Dili). I have made so many new friends over the past 5 months and almost every week meet someone new! It’s always good to have lots of people who are on the same roller coaster as you and can relate to the many ups and downs that come with living in such a foreign country. I have also learnt so many things, about life, myself, other cultures, work and so much more!

Adventuring in Flores, Indonesia

There is also so much more that I want to learn about and do in the time I have left. I want to; get my scuba licence, Β get my motorcycle licence, climb Mt ramelau, go to as many districts as possible, give my all to the reading room, get better at Tetun, go to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, learn as much about myself as possible, get stronger (physically and mentally) πŸ’ͺ🏼 and a few more personal goals that you may see updates from when/ if they happen!

Saturday walks with friends

As today is half way for me it is a good time to reflect on my time here. I think that 10 months will be the perfect amount of time for my placement. A year maybe too long away from friends and family the first time leaving them long term (though I can’t guarantee I’ll stick around for long after I come home! Sorry). But a shorter time of say, 8 months or less wouldn’t have been enough time for me to be able to achieve all of my goals. I know I still have a lot that I want to do in the time I have left but this just makes me more motivated to push myself and also gives me many things to look forward to!

So grateful that my family could come over! In the back of the ute on Atauro an island just off Dili

I have a degree in physical geography, yet here in Timor-Leste πŸ‡ΉπŸ‡± at my work I do marketing, event organisation, book cataloging, English teaching, and many other different things. Without my degree I would not have been able to get a position in the program I am in yet I have barely used my geography knowledge at work. It’s so strange how it all works out in the end, I want a career in geography but that doesn’t mean I’m not loving what I do day to day here! In my life out of work I learn more about human geography which I did some papers on with my degree, I can now see all of the text book information in real life which is really the best way to learn!

Aboard HMNZS Endeavour, so many great opportunities arise here you would never get back home!

Although it can be tough at times I really am loving it over here and I am going to try and make the best of the time I have left!!

Leave a Reply

